NEW YORK BLUEBERRY CHEESECAKE

The reason why I wanted to share this recipe is for you to see how easy is to make a cheesecake: I broke down steps of the baking process in the most time-consuming way possible.

As you can see, the ingredients are very basic and easy to be bought in any supermarket.

DSC_0173

I made this cheesecake so many times – I tried different variation and after many tests I found this particular recipe to be the best one. Other thought so too.

This was always a winner at my work charity Cake Sales. Have fun!

INGREDIENTS FOR THE BISCUIT BASE

  • 80g butter melted
  • 200g digestive biscuits

INGREDIENTS FOR THE CHEESECAKE FILLING

  • 900g of soft cheese
  • 200g caster sugar
  • 3 tbsp plain flour
  • 1½ tsp vanilla extract
  • finely grated zest of ½ lemon
  • 3 large eggs
  • 200g of blueberries

METHOD

  1. Crush biscuits for the base: I add biscuits in a big bowl and using a heavy glass and I crush biscuits to crumbles.
  2. I melt butter in the bowl in microwave for 1min.
  3. I mix butter and biscuits.
  4. Lay baking paper in the baking dish.
  5. Move biscuits mix into the baking dish and even all to one level with the glass.
  6. Pre-heat oven on a medium heat 180 degrees.
  7. Add soft cheese, sugar, flour, vanilla extract, grated zest of lemon and eggs into a bowl and using hand-mixer beat all ingredients until mix is smooth and lump-free.
  8. Add blueberries – these cannot be beaten with hand-mixer but it will melt/turn into a gem during baking process.
  9. Add cheesecake filling mix on a top of the biscuit base.
  10. Bake cheesecake for 45-50min. I check cheesecake after 35min and then 10-15min afterwards. I use toothpick to check if cheesecake is done – simply stick toothpick in filling and see if it comes out clean (that means it is done) if not, bake it for a bit longer.
  11. Once it has been done, leave it to cool it down. TIP – for a quick cool-down you can leave cooled down cheesecake in the freezer for 20-30min.

I hope your tummy will enjoy it.

With Love, Gitana

5 thoughts on “NEW YORK BLUEBERRY CHEESECAKE

Leave a Reply

